Holyday Events / Countdown Timer

What is different about this timer

Several websites have a countdown timer that continuously shows the number of days, hours, minutes, and seconds left until one single date.  This timer has a year's worth of Jewish Holidays programmed into it and will automatically reset itself after the end of one holiday and begin counting down to the next holiday.   More holidays can be added as well.  It also will display only the numbers of days until it gets down to less than three days, then it will display the days and hours, and then just the hours and minutes, then the minutes and seconds, and finally, just the seconds.  It will then display an appropriate message for the entire day.  For longer holidays such as Sukkot, Chanukah, and Passover it will display a different message for each day of the holiday while displaying the countdown to the next holiday on a second line (in light purple).  It will also display (in red) the Omer count between Passover and Shavuot.

Auto-location/sundown detection

According to Hebrew custom the day begins at sundown (see Gen. 1:5, 8, 13, 19, 23, 31).  In order to be able to calculate the sundown time for a given location you have to know the latitude, longitude, and time zone that you (or your computer for that matter) are located in. When the Home Page is first loaded it will automatically detect your location anywhere in the world and display the sundown time (in parenthesis) at the end of the countdown timer.  It will also display your current location and sundown time to the left of the countdown timer. 

The Weekly Parshah display and the Next Holiday display also use your current sundown time to change what information needs to be displayed at that time (and programmed date).  If you click on the red , it will allow you to change the current location to whatever you want.  If you use this to change the location, then you will have to refresh the page to apply the updated sundown time to the timer and the Parshah and Holiday displays.

If you want the home page to auto-locate your current location after you have manually selected a different location, then you will have to clear your browser's cookies and then refresh the page twice, (or delete the #loaded notation in the web address after clearing the cookies, and hit Enter to reload the page) in order for the page to display all the correct information for your location.

The program uses your own computer's internal clock to display the correct time remaining for your area.


Click on any of the linked Holydays below to find out more about that Holyday.

Holydays currently used in this program

bullet Rosh HaShannah - Tishri 1
bullet Fast of Gedaliah - Tishri 3
bullet Yom Kippur - Tishri 10
bullet Sukkot (including Simchat Torah) - Tishri 15
bullet Chanukah - Kheshvan 25
bullet Fast of Tevet - Tevet 10
bullet Tu B'Shevat - Shevat 15
bullet Purim - Adar 14
bullet Passover - Nisan 15 (14th at sundown)
bullet Yom HaShoah (Holocaust Memorial Day) - Nisan 27
bullet Yom Hazikaron - Iyyar 4
bullet Israel Independence Day - Iyyar 5
bullet Lag B'Omer - Iyyar 18
bullet Yom Yerushalayim - Iyyar 28
bullet Shavuot (Pharisaic) - see below
bullet Fast of Tammuz - Tammuz 17
bullet Tisha B'Av - Av 9
bullet Tu B'Av - Av 15

Minor Holydays not currently used

bullet Fast of Esther (day before Purim)
bullet Selikhot - Elul 25

Why we render the counting of the Omer according to Pharisaic Tradition

It has been customary within Messianic/Christian circles to render the counting of the Omer as starting on the Sunday after the beginning of the Passover.  This is because it has been universally taught that Yeshua (Jesus) rose from the dead early Sunday morning.  However, a more careful reading of the text from a Hebraic standpoint points towards the resurrection occurring sometime between the end of the Sabbath and midnight.

There were three basic schools of thought in the first century about when the counting of the Omer started:  (1) the Pharisees (P'rushim) who believed that it started the day after the beginning of Passover (i.e the 16th of Nisan), (2) the Boethusians* and Sadducees who believed it started on the Sunday after the beginning of Passover, and (3) the Essenes who believed it started on the Sunday after the end of the entire eight day festival (one week later than the Boethusians and Sadducees).

According to Leviticus 23:14, no one was permitted to eat any of the new grain or growth until the sheaf of the Firstfruits had been waved before the LORD.   It was at this point that they started counting the Omer.  When Yehoshua (Joshua) and the Israelites entered the land and celebrated the Passover, they ate of the corn and grain of the land on the day after Passover (Joshua 5:10-12), thus marking the beginning of the count as being the day after the beginning of Passover.  The Pharisaic tradition is the one used by the Jewish people today and the one we follow at Yashanet.

For more information about this subject see Tim Hegg's article "Counting the Omer" (PDF format)

* The Boethusians (most likely a branch of the Sadducees) were very loyal to King Herod and are almost definitely the ones referred to as the "Herodians" in Mark 3:6, 12:13.  They gained their name from Simeon ben Boethus who was appointed high priest by Herod the Great in 24 BCE.

Return to the YashaNet Home Page